Trans Wellness Conference

Trans Wellness Conference

Members of our Center for Key Populations – Stephanie Farrell, Doug Janssen, and clients/patients of CHC – traveled together to the Philadelphia Trans Wellness Conference last week. This is the largest free trans-specific conference in the world, and it emphasizes including clients and patients in conference participation and advocacy.

Stephanie, who is a Nurse Care Coordinator, wrote about her experiences at the conference – and how it helped to change her perspective.

Day 1

Road trip time for a few members of the Center for Key Populations Team! Doug Janssen, Outreach Coordinator, and I (Stephanie Farrell, Nurse Care Coordinator) are currently in Philadelphia at the annual Trans Wellness Conference. We are lucky enough to have a few of our clients along with us to take in all this conference has to offer. Yesterday we got to know one another during the drive down and while sitting in traffic. As a nurse, I listened to our client talk through a bit of apprehension and anxiety about being at an event of this size.  But you could also feel her excitement!

Doug & Stephanie

Today started with more waiting in line to check in and get into the conference.  We talked to people from all over the country and Doug made plans to network later in the day with a nurse educator he happened to strike up a conversation with while in queue.  Anyone who knows Doug knows we will be going home with new friends and a few stories!