CHC Picnic 9/9/12

CHC Picnic 9/9/12

Entering into a new stage of life can be daunting, overwhelming, confusing and frustrating. As a recent college graduate, I can undoubtedly say I have experienced all of these feelings since receiving my diploma in late May, and the current state of the job market has only made matters more interesting for my peers and I. I was fortunate enough to discover AmeriCorps – and in particular the Community HealthCorps program within which I am currently serving – early this past summer, which opened my eyes to an opportunity that I had not previously known about, let alone considered. The application that I submitted at the Community Health Center, Inc. was submitted – in all honesty – among many others, including at jobs in a variety of professional fields. However, I am very glad that I ended up taking the position I now have at CHC.

Like so many other people, one of my biggest concerns when embarking on a new journey is getting comfortable in my surroundings. I can happily report that this process has been quick and that I have been welcomed with open arms at CHC. There is perhaps no better example of this than my experience at the CHC Staff Picnic, which took place on Sunday, September 9th.

The picnic was held at the Wadsworth Mansion, a gorgeous estate in western Middletown that dates to the early 1900s. The weather could not have been any better and the day proved to be a big success. My father and I got to the picnic around one o’clock and we were greeted by two or three incredibly friendly CHC-employees, who had volunteered to help with registration. Their warm welcome was a sign of what was to come, as literally everyone that we spoke to was in great spirits and eager to enjoy the festivities that had been arranged.