Cause for Concern: “Bath Salts” as a New Drug of Abuse

Cause for Concern: “Bath Salts” as a New Drug of Abuse

The following is a guest post from Marissa Salvo, Pharm.D. Assistant Clinical Professor, University of Connecticut School of Pharmacy Clinical Pharmacist, Community Health Center, Inc. Meriden

Recently, I had my oil changed at the local auto shop. While there, one of the employees started talking with me about recent local news. He addressed the upcoming elections, a major accident on the highway, destruction of headstones at a local cemetery, and then he discussed the robbery of his home. I didn’t know what I could possibly say to show my deepest concern. He stated that the individual who broke into his home was high on “bath salts.”  “Bath salts?” I asked.  He replied, “Yeah, that’s the new things kids are ‘doing’ these days to get high.” I was quite surprised to hear this! As a pharmacist, I need to be aware of drugs of abuse so I can appropriately answer questions and educate others; so, I decided to investigate.

“Bath salts” contain chemicals such as mephedrone, MDPV (3,4-methylenedioxypyrovalerone), or pyrovalerone, which are amphetamine-like compounds made in a lab.1 Recreational abuse occurs through smoking, snorting, or injecting the substance. Doing so can cause cardiac, neurological, and/or psychological symptoms, such as increased blood pressure or heart rate, chest pain, agitation, tremors, euphoria, hallucinations, delusions, or paranoia. In addition, the stimulant effect results in high abuse and addiction potential with reported intense cravings.2